Task 1 General Training:
Formal Complaint Letter

by katisss
(USA)

You travelled by plane last week and your suitcase was lost. You have still heard nothing from the airline company.


Write to the airline and explain what happened. Describe your suitcase and tell them what was in it. Find out what they are going to do about it.



Dear Madam or Sir,

I am writing to you regarding my suitcase, which was lost on the British Airways flight from London to New York (BA123) on January 2nd. When I realized the loss on my arrival in New York I reported it to the counter staff. The agent promised to give my hotel a call within the next hours, but unfortunately this did not happen. I have contacted British Airways numerous times since by phone without being able to locate the suitcase.

My suitcase is made of dark blue fabric with black handles and a single. It contains clothing, presents for friends I will visit and photographic equipment I was planning to use on my trip. I already had to buy some cloths and toiletry for which I attached the receipt to this letter expecting you to refund my expenses.

I hope this matter can be resolved very soon as I plan to continue my trip to California on the 7th of January an will no longer be able to pick up the suitcase in New York after this date. You can reach me on my mobile 123456789.

Yours Faithfully,

Katrin Schmid

=======================

IELTS buddy
Feedback

Corrected Version:


Dear Madam or Sir,

I am writing to you regarding my suitcase, which was lost on the British Airways flight from London to New York (BA123) on January 2nd.

When I realized the loss on my arrival in New York, I reported it to the counter staff. The agent promised to give my hotel a call within the next few hours, but unfortunately this did not happen. I have contacted British Airways numerous times since by phone without being able to locate the suitcase.

My suitcase is made of dark blue fabric with black handles and a single (I don’t understand what you mean by a ‘single’?). It contains clothing, presents for friends I will visit and photographic equipment I was planning to use on my trip. I already had to buy had already bought some clothes and toiletries for which I attached the receipt to this letter expecting you to refund my expenses.

I hope this matter can be resolved very soon as I plan to continue my trip to California on the 7th of January and will no longer be able to pick up the suitcase in New York after this date. You can reach me on my mobile - 123456789.

Yours Faithfully,

Katrin Schmid

=====================

Further comments:

Again, a good answer with good grammar control and vocabulary.

The only thing I would say is you could write more about this part:

Find out what they are going to do about it.

You do mention the refund, but you could add more. For example:

Please contact me to inform me of what steps you are going to take to resolve this situation.

Comments for Task 1 General Training:
Formal Complaint Letter

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
katisss
by: Anonymous

ups, i forgot the pocket after single.
I tried to express:
i was forced to buy clothes...
in that sentence

Feb 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task 1 Complaint Letter
by: IELTS buddy

Ok, I see.

The other page you mentioned would need to be written like this:

"I have already had to buy..."

Aug 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hi
by: Anonymous

Dear sir,
I am sara writing this letter for the missing suitcase while travelling kerala to new delhi ,The flight was on

Jan 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
complaint regarding my missing suitcase
by: kenjo

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to you regarding my missing checked baggage. I travel from Sydney to Singapore on Singapore Airlines SQ242 on 14th January but upon my arrival at Singapore Changi Airport my baggage did not arrive with me. I report about my missing baggage to the airline staff at lost and found desk.

My baggage is four wheeler and dark blue in colour, its brand is samsonite. Inside the baggage there was clothes, shoes ,ladies bags and few gift items. My name Kenjo is also written there outside in a baggage lable. Because of the delay of my baggage I have brought some toiletries things,I have attach the receipt here with this Email.

I am regularly in contact with the airline staff but its not worthy. That is why I am writing this complaint to you. Appreciate, if you take this matter seriously otherwise I have to raise my voice in media.

Best Regards
Kenjo

Aug 18, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I wish to express my dissatisfaction with your services.
by: Anonymous

Dear sir/ Madam

On 25 of July I traveled from Brazil to Angola on flight number 100, in economic area,my suitcase is black leather in pockets there are clothes, my books, money and my friends gifts.

After the arrival I went to the carousel and I did not find my suitcase.I decided to go the check in desk to inform what happened, I talked with your clerk and she told me go home and wait for a call. I accepted but now a week is passed and I don't have any information about my suitcase.

I really need my suitcase back because I have my books there and I need study for my exams.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Oct 29, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstar
new to IELTS preparation
by: Anonymous

Dear All,

Whoever is studying here please help, me I want to do IELTS preparation in coming 2 months, I want to appear in exams. Please guide me I do not have interest with studies. How can I improve my mind towards the studies specially to IELTS preparation.

Feel free to contact:
Suliman from Aga Khan Hospital Karachi Pakistan.

Nov 14, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lost Suitcase
by: Anonymous

Here's my letter writing.

May I know the band rate?

Thank you in advance.
_____________________________________________

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing to bring your attention that my suitcase was lost on the Singapore Airlines flight from Rome to Singapore on 01 November 2016 with a Flight Reference Number of SQ12345. One of your agents promised me that they will return a call the next day to report the status of my lost suitcase. Unfortunately, I have been called your Helpdesk several times but to no avail.

The suitcase brand is Britto which has colorful flower designs that can weigh 25 kg, it has a cover of a plain black that has a written on it "Don’t Touch!" Inside my suitcase is a very important personal document along with the clothes, shoes, and toiletries.

As such, I want to know what you are going to do about this situation. I will need my important documents on my suitcase for the purpose of my Canada Application which will be due for submission by next month. Could you call me at +65 8765 4321 as soon as you get this letter and receive the report?

Thank you and I am looking forward to a swift resolution on this matter.


Yours faithfully,
ABCD





Click here to add your own comments

Return to Writing Submissions - Task 1.